It is important to understand the difference between a teacher and a lecturer as defined in our system.

A teacher can review student’s progress but does not have rights to mark/edit student’s work.

A lecturer can mark/edit student’s work.

On login a teacher will be redirected to a front end page designed so that they can investigate student progress.

On login a lecturer will be redirected to the back end admin area of the site.

Add lecturer

To create a lecturer level user add a new user in the same way you would manually add a student with one difference.

Change the Role to Group Leader.

When editing the user DO NOT edit either the User Enrolled in Courses or the User Enrolled in Groups boxes, rather set the teacher as a Leader of Groups as shown.

Add Teacher

To create a teacher level user add a new user in the same way you would manually add a student with one difference.

Change the Role to Group Leader.

When editing the user DO NOT edit either the User Enrolled in Courses or the User Enrolled in Groups boxes, rather set the teacher as a Leader of Groups as shown.

VERY IMPORTANT!

The second step is under Additional Capabilities add the role teacher as shown

Click Update User.

Add User Admin

There may be circumstances where it is appropriate for a Lecturer to be also able to add/edit delete users.

It is important to note that this gives the Lecturer rights to see all students in the system and not just the students in their own group.

To add this additional capability add the role User Admin role as shown

Click Update User.